The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is an International standardized testing system of English language Targeted to the International Students to evaluate their  level of English Language in Reading, Writing, Speaking And Listening so that they can pursue their higher education in their desire English Language speaking countries and also evaluate them whether they are eligible to pursue or not. It is jointly managed by the British Council, IDP : IELTS Australia, and Cambridge Assessment English and was established in 1989.



The English Language Testing Service (ELTS), as IELTS was then known, was launched in 1980 by Cambridge English Language Assessment then known as UCLES) and the British Council It had an innovative format, which reflected changes in language learning and teaching, including the growth in ‘communicative’ language learning and ‘English for specific purposes’. Test tasks were intended to reflect the use of language in the ‘real world’.

During the 1980s, test taker numbers were low (4,000 in 1981 rising to 10,000 in 1985) and there were practical difficulties administering the test. As a result, the ELTS Revision Project was set up to oversee the redesign of the test. In order to have international participation in the redesign, the International Development Program of Australian Universities and Colleges (IDP), now known as IDP: IELTS Australia , joined Cambridge English Language Assessment and the British Council to form the international IELTS partnership which delivers the test to this day. This international partnership was reflected in the new name for the test: The International English Language Testing System (IELTS).

IELTS went live in 1989. Test takers took two non-specialised modules, Listening and Speaking, and two specialised modules, Reading and Writing. Test taker numbers rose by approximately 15% per year and by 1995 there were 43,000 test takers in 210 test centres around the world.

IELTS was revised again in 1995, with three main changes:

  • There was ONE Academic Reading Module and ONE Academic Writing Module (previously there had been a choice of three field-specific Reading and Writing modules)
  • The thematic link between the Reading and Writing tasks was removed to avoid confusing the assessment of reading and writing ability
  • The General Training Reading and Writing modules were brought into line with the Academic Reading and Writing modules (same timing, length of responses, reporting of scores).

Further revisions went live in 2001 (revised Speaking Test) and 2005 (new assessment criteria for the Writing test)

IELTS is divided into two module first is:



Academic module is targeted to the international students who wish to pursue their higher education in the English Speaking countries such as USA, Australia, UK, Canada, New Zealand and many more. IELTS is Accepted by almost each and every Universities and Institute and Colleges, through out the world. IELTS test is divided into four parts and they are.


11-14 mins

Face-to-face interview without disruptions or distractions. Structured discussion on a familiar topic.


60 mins

3 long texts taken from books, journals, magazines and newspapers. Selected for a non-specialist audience.


60 mins

Describe a table, chart or diagram (150 words) Short Essay (250 words). Formal style


30 mins

4 sections, each with 10 questions. The first two deal with everyday social contexts. Section 3 & 4 deal with educational and training contexts.

Band Score.

9 Expert User Has full operational command of the language: appropriate, accurate and fluent with complete understanding.
8 Very Good User Has fully operational command of the language with only occasional unsystematic inaccuracies and inappropriacies. Misunderstandings may occur in unfamiliar situations. Handles complex detailed argumentation well.
7 Good User Has operational command of the language, though with occasional inaccuracies, inappropriateness and misunderstandings in some situations. Generally handles complex language well and understands detailed reasoning.
6 Competent User Has generally effective command of the language despite some inaccuracies, inappropriacies and misunderstandings. Can use and understand fairly complex language, particularly in familiar situations.
5 Modest user Has partial command of the language, coping with overall meaning in most situations, though is likely to make many mistakes. Should be able to handle basic communication in own field.
4 Limited User Basic competence is limited to familiar situations. Has frequent problems in understanding and expression. Is not able to use complex language.
3 Extremely Limited User Conveys and understands only general meaning in very familiar situations. Frequent breakdowns in communication occur.
2 Intermittent User No real communication is possible except for the most basic information using isolated words or short formulae in familiar situations and to meet immediate needs. Has great difficulty understanding spoken and written English.
1 Non User Essentially has no ability to use the language beyond possibly a few isolated words.
0 Did not attempt the test No assessable information provided at all.

IELTS and the CEFR

IELTS Band Score CEFR Level
9.0 C2
8.5 C2
8.0 Borderline C2/C1
7.5 C1
7.0 C1
6.5 Borderline C1/B2
6.0 B2
5.5 B2
5.0 Borderline B2/B1_
4.5 B1
4.0 B1
3.5 Borderline B1/A2
3.0 A2
2.5 A2
2.0 Borderline A2-A1
1.5 A1
1.0 A1
0.5 Non user
0.0 Did not attempt the test

General Training (GT)

This module is appropriate for those who are going to English-speaking countries to complete work experience and training programs or for immigration purposes. General Training IELTS format mainly focuses on general communication skills of the candidates they will need in the workplace and society in an English speaking countries, This types of test is suitable for the applicants who are going to process PR, Migration Visas, Skilled Worker Visas.

By | 2019-12-16T18:18:38+01:00 August 21st, 2018|Uncategorised|Comments Off on IELTS